Uncle Meg

Uncle Meg is a West Virginian born, Brooklyn-based Transgender rapper whose visual & lyrical talents have been featured in Paper Magazine, New York Magazine, Huffington Post, among others. He has played multiple SXSW showcases in 2015, 2016, & 2018, and has performed at major venues in Brooklyn, such as Brooklyn Bowl and the Music Hall of Williamsburg.

In 2016 Uncle Meg released his debut full-length, Bug, and started going by he/him pronouns, beginning a personal exploration with his gender expression, starting with his medical transition. Can’t Stay The Same, a ten-track duet album with MC John Debt (Berlin, Germany), was his second studio album released in late 2017. The collaboration explores the concept of life’s various transitions, twists, and turns, and captures the pain from growth and death.

Continuing the concept of change and transformation, Uncle Meg introduces his brand new EP Butterfly, set to be released late 2018 and featuring guests, Laura Lee Bishop (Austin, Texas) and S.O.U.P. (Bronx, NY). Butterfly is a four-track Emo Hip-Hop EP that was written during the first year of Uncle Meg’s transition from female to male and reveals the fresh hope he found, while at the same time, expressing the growing pains of seeing and experiencing the world as a brand new being.