The Cocker Spaniels

The Cocker Spaniels is Sean Padilla, who turns his affection for Prince and Guided by
Voices into music that splits the difference. He plays and sings nearly every sound
you hear.

The Cocker Spaniels Are Still Alive and So Are You is a meditation on grief, loss,
birth, and life; a reflection of his growth as a person and a musician over the last
decade; a souvenir of how he stayed sane through a pandemic and the upheaval it
caused; an album that sounds like folk-rock, power-pop, funk, grunge, dub, goth, punk,
shoegaze, R&B, or black metal depending on the song.

The album was recorded on two digital 24-tracks and a cassette 8-track at his house
in Charlotte, NC, between the summer of 2019 and the spring of 2021.
All songs were produced, arranged, composed, and performed by Sean. Nathaniel
Arcadipane (“H”), Layne Padilla (tambourine, “Family Narc”), Ezra Padilla (“Rice and
Prepared Xylophone”), and Micah Padilla (“Rainbow Baby #2) dropped by from time
to time.

The album was executive produced by Layne Padilla and Lenée Voss. Layne oversaw
the art direction. It was mastered by Jason NeSmith at Chase Park Transduction.

Look for The Cocker Spaniels Are Still Alive and So Are You -out via Evil Island Fortress- on August 13th, 2021.